Praise 104.7 Featured Video

WASHINGTON – The White House says former President George H.W. Bush, poet Maya Angelou (MEYE’-ah AN’-jeh-loo) and investor Warren Buffett are among the 2010 winners of the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the nation’s highest civilian honor.

President Barack Obama will present the awards to the 15 honorees early next year.

Other winners include a civil rights hero, Democratic Rep. John Lewis of Georgia, plus St. Louis Cardinals Hall of Famer Stan Musial, Boston Celtics legend Bill Russell, German Chancellor Angela Merkel (AHN’-geh-lah MEHR’-kuhl) and cellist Yo-Yo Ma.

The White House made the announcement Wednesday.