Listen Live
Urban One Honors w/ Mary J. Blige
Praise 104.7 Featured Video

Nashville, TN — The 28th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards today announced additions to the show’s lineup of Gospel music’s finest performers that now includes: Amber Bullock, Anita Wilson, Byron Cage, Pastor Charles Jenkins & Fellowship Choir, Delores Washington, Donnie McClurkin, Dorothy Norwood, Dottie Peoples, Israel Houghton & New Breed, Jason Nelson, Kierra Clark Sheard, The Kurt Carr Singers, LeAndria Johnson, Marvin Sapp, Marvin Winans, Mary Mary, Maurette Brown Clark, Shirley Caesar, Tamela Mann, Tye Tribbett,  and Y’Anna Crawley.  In addition, presenters will include Andrae Crouch, Ambassador Dr. Bobby Jones, Donald Lawrence, LeToya Luckett, Lexi, Michelle Williams, Rance Allen, Rockmond Dunbar, Shawn Thompson, VaShawn Mitchell, Wess Morgan, and William Murphy.

As previously announced, the 28th Annual Stellar Gospel Music Awards Show is hosted this year by gospel legends Kirk Franklin and Mary Mary and will once again air in national broadcast syndication in over 200 television markets from Jan. 19- March 3, 2013.  Notably, for the first time in the history of the Stellar Awards, the show will air live in primetime on GMC TV from Nashville’s Grand Ole Opry House on Saturday, January 19, 2013 at 7 p.m. EST. 

A highlight of the evening is the acknowledgement of special honorees, which this year includes honoring Gospel icon Inez Andrews, who will be posthumously awarded the Ambassador Dr. Bobby Jones Legends Award for her long and successful career over five decades as a recording artist and one of Gospel’s foremost songwriters.  As a member of the group The Caravans, Andrews recorded the classic “Mary Don’t You Weep,” which earned the group a certified Gold record.  In a fitting sendoff to Andrews, there will be a special reunion of The Caravans that will feature Caesar, Norwood and Washington as part of the tribute.

“Ms. Andrews has paved the way for female artists and has had a major impact on the Gospel Music Industry all the way up to her untimely passing in December of 2012,” said Stellar Awards executive producer and Central City Productions CEO Don Jackson, who credits Ms. Andrews’ participation in the Stellar Awards as one of most significant reasons for the success of the show today.  “Inez Andrews loved the Stellar Awards and performed with the Caravans many times during the early years of the show.”

Other special honorees this year include Bishop T.D. Jakes, who will receive the Thomas Dorsey Notable Achievement Award for his many noteworthy accomplishments in 2012, including the production of highly anticipated film remake of Sparkle; the release of his latest book “Let It Go”; the independent release of NAACP Image Award nominated film “Woman Thou Art Loosed: On the 7th Day”; and his conference series including MegaFest and Woman Thou Art Loosed, which drew tens of thousands of attendees. Kurt Carr will be honored with the James Cleveland Lifetime Achievement Award for his contributions to the Gospel music industry and genre over the course of a 22-year career, including his background as music director and pianist for the late Rev. Cleveland himself.

Courtesy of