Praise 104.7 Featured Video

As the internet becomes a more prominent in all aspects of society, it seems only natural that an awards show would find a home in cyberspace. Fans have an opportunity to vote for their favorites in the First Annual Digital Gospel Music Awards created by Elev8. There are many of the traditional categories, Best Gospel Album, Best Gospel Song, etc.

However, there is also a unique category: Best Gospel Act on Social Media. According to Elev8’s Darnella Dunham, “So many Gospel artists have embraced Facebook and Twitter and stay connected with their fans on a daily basis. And it is our pleasure to recognize some of those who touch their fans consistently via social media.” Nominees include Kirk Franklin, James Fortune, LeAndria Johnson, LeCrae, Marvin Sapp, Mary Mary and VaShawn Mitchell. Voters can also write in their choice.

Visit to vote. Voting ends December 19 and winners will be announced December 21.